Easy to Love

When we were expecting, we wanted to collect the lyrics of a few songs that we could sing to soothe our daughter.  I dug around and came up with a bunch that could be good for this purpose.  My partner picked the soft 60’s samba (Summer Samba) So Nice, made famous and popularized by the Brazilian couple Astrud and Joao Gilberto.  You know the one:

Someone to hold me tight
That would be very nice
Someone to love me right
That would be very nice
Someone to understand
Each little dream in me
Someone to take my hand
And be a team with me

So nice, life would be so nice
If one day I’d find
Someone who would take my hand
And samba through life with me

Someone to cling to me
Stay with me right or wrong
Someone to sing to me
Some little samba song
Someone to take my heart
And give his heart to me
Someone who’s ready to
Give love a start with me

Oh yeah, that would be so nice
I could see you and me, that would be nice

That one turned out to be a winner, the song that was sung over and over to our newborn by her mom, and later played to send her to sleep via recording from Bebel Gilberto, the daughter of Astrud, who remade the 60’s song and popularized it again, 40 years later.

The song I choose was Easy to Love, a Cole Porter jazz standard sung by just about everyone, including Frank Sinatra for one, and recently by the Grammy-nominated Italian songstress Roberta Gambarini, who just happened to be in Chicago over Thanksgiving weekend.  I had to go and listen to her sing this song live.  And I had to make sure this song was on her playlist for her show, otherwise after all, I wouldn’t hear it live.

I saw her during a break from her first set, and walked up to her and asked her if she could sing it because it was the song I sang to my daughter to soothe her when she was an infant.  And it would mean a lot to me, even if I did change the lyrics, even if I didn’t always sing it right, even if it didn’t always work to soothe my girl.  It would still mean a lot.  And, well, she nearly did win a Grammy for it.  Well, wouldn’t she consider singing it?  She just smiled and said if it was good for my daughter, it should be good for this crowd of jazz fans.  She’d be happy to sing it.  But it was on her playlist anyway, of course.

It goes something like this:

I know too well that I’m just wasting precious time

in thinking such a thing could be

that you could ever care for me

I’m sure you hate to hear

that I adore you, dear

but grant me

just the same

I’m not entirely to blame, ’cause

You’d be so easy to love
So easy to idolize all others above
So worth the yearning for
So swell to keep every home fire burning for

And we would be so grand at the game
Carefree together that it does seem a shame
That you can’t see your future with me
‘Cause you’d be, oh, so easy to love

Sinatra sang it like this: 

You’d be so easy to love
So easy to idolize all others above

So sweet to ‘waken with

So nice to sit down to the eggs and bacon with…

And THAT’S the way I sang it.

About Deeda's World

Curious world-traveller, democracy promoter, rule of law upholder (kind of), graphic novel (okay, comic book) fanboy, coffee addict, and above all else, proud father to a wonderful daughter, who calls me "Deeda". Her hip version of Dad. Full Legal-Like Disclosure: This blog is about me. My world.
This entry was posted in Bad Dad, Child, children, Dad, Daddy Bloggers, Family, Fatherhood, Life, parenting, Parenting Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

