Shopping with My Princess

Just Try to Name All Ten!

The other day, just before the holidays, I slipped out of the office at The Association’s Global Headquarters, for an early lunch to meet my toddler daughter (and her nanny) at a downtown Disney Store

Ever take a child to a Disney Store?!  Aside from it being a bonus extra ad hoc opportunity to be with my daughter, I have to say being THERE with my daughter was pretty cool, but far from the Disney I remember.  Upon entering the store, she immediately gravitates towards the Princess display.  She can tell me without hesitation, the names of at least five based on hair color, hair style, and outfit, I think.  She can even name the princesses’ companions and friends, or “all the guys” as she says.  When did this happen? Can any of you do that?  I can’t, or couldn’t, before now. 

Oh, and apparently according to Google, there are now ten princesses, although my daughter initially led me to believe there were only five.  I remember the classics Cinderella and Snow White, and could at one time name all seven dwarfs.  I may even remember Belle from Beauty and the Beast, and Pocahontas and Rapunzel from fairy tales, but beyond that I’m a newbie.  Ariel, Aurora, Jasmine, Mulan, Tiana round out the ten.  Toss in Tinker Bell, even though she’s a fairy, and you have the whole current line-up. 

Never mind Simba, Nala, the Muppets, Pooh, and the Toy Story crew, of which she could name quite a few.  So much for being a media-free parent, but then again, when I was my daughter’s age, my grandma and one of her sisters, my great aunt, took us to see all the Disney movies at the Saturday matinees.  Even my mom took us to some, and but for Fantasia, which she stormed out of with us kids in tow, we probably had all the characters nailed down.

It may be best to get to know these “guys” to impress my daughter, or at least to be able to keep up with her.   How else would Santa know which is Ariel?!

About Deeda's World

Curious world-traveller, democracy promoter, rule of law upholder (kind of), graphic novel (okay, comic book) fanboy, coffee addict, and above all else, proud father to a wonderful daughter, who calls me "Deeda". Her hip version of Dad. Full Legal-Like Disclosure: This blog is about me. My world.
This entry was posted in Child, children, Dad, Daddy Bloggers, Disney Princesses, Fatherhood, parenting, Parenting Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

