My Daughter the Hepcat

Hepcat

I’m not sure when this happened, I think it was gradual, but at some point my daughter who just turned three, became a hepcat.  Her birth of her own cool.  Or at least she thinks so.  Calling me Dad or daddy, no longer good enough for her, became Deeda or Deedo, or just “D” for short.  Uncle Dan is now Unca D.  Nicknames now seem to rule for her.

We’ve gotten her to politely excuse herself when she wants to cut into a conversation between two or more adults, but now when we ask her to wait for a moment (because it’s our time) until we finish the thought she says, “No, this is NOT your time – The sun has set” or,  “Game over Chickadee”.  

Hard not to like and admire that coolness in your own child.

About Deeda's World

Curious world-traveller, democracy promoter, rule of law upholder (kind of), graphic novel (okay, comic book) fanboy, coffee addict, and above all else, proud father to a wonderful daughter, who calls me "Deeda". Her hip version of Dad. Full Legal-Like Disclosure: This blog is about me. My world.
This entry was posted in children, Dad and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

